My Netflix Habits

Our Makeover Monday developer user group at Progressive Insurance usually picks a topic from the UK MakeoverMonday to work with, but this month we chose a neat data set from Netflix. You can download your complete viewing history from the Netflix website (instructions here). (For some reason, I kept receiving an error message, “We ran into an issue preparing your viewing activity. You can try again now or come back at a later time.”, so I painstakingly copied it by hand and stopped at 3 years.)

My submission, which I posted on Tableau Public, doesn’t show off much in terms of fancy Tableau chops, but it was a fun exercise. I did get some practice with level-of-detail calcs, and made my first lollipop chart. So what did I discover?

  • Wow, I there must have been some 31-day long snowstorm December, 2020. Our bingedex (bing index = % of days watching at least 5 shows) hit 90%.
  • COVID hit hard in March 2021 right about the same time as Heartland really gripped our household. This was a dark time for me.
  • I expected to see heavier viewing on some days of the week, maybe Friday or Saturday, but that really isn’t the case.

 Share!

 
comments powered by Disqus